Home


Adriana Schanen

I write novels for kids and young adults.

My favorite kind of fiction is realistic, immersive, character-driven.
I love smart, authentic stories with a sense of humor…books with a beating heart.

 

Quinny & Hopper

QUINNY & HOPPER, my debut early middle-grade novel, was published in 2014 by Disney-Hyperion. It’s a contemporary/realistic story about two polar-opposite kids whose sweet summer friendship sours when they wind up in the same 3rd grade class. (Plus there’s a killer chicken.) Featured in Time magazine for Kids and nominated for a Beverly Cleary Children’s Choice Book Award, QUINNY & HOPPER celebrates friendship diversity and social courage. A sequel, QUINNY & HOPPER: PARTNERS IN SLIME, is now available!

“Fans of Sara Pennypacker’s Clementine and Judy Blume’s Superfudge will flock to this entertaining chapter book.” –School Library Journal

“Hopper’s thoughtful and observant voice and Quinny’s lively and amusing one, combined with the quick-paced plotting, make this an engaging page-turner. Judy Moody fans will have a ball with Quinny and Hopper, and elementary teachers or librarians looking for a spirited readaloud selection will want to pick up a copy as well.” –BCCB

“This endearing story about true friendship should appeal equally to boys and girls.” –Kirkus

Read more…

» Find this book on Goodreads

Available through your local bookseller or online:

 

Amazon.com Barnes & Noble IndieBound

 

quincy-hobbsQuinny & Hopper are back in a lively, heartfelt sequel about friendship, changes and staying true to yourself. Hopper feels nervous about going to the hospital for a scary (and slimy) medical procedure. Quinny suffers a crushing (and slimy) disappointment at school. Join this unlikely duo for more icky misadventures, social dilemmas and twisty surprises in Q&H: PARTNERS IN SLIME.

“An excellent, emotionally rich choice for readers ready for a sizable chapter book.” – Kirkus

Read more…

Available through your local bookseller or online:

 

Amazon.com Barnes & Noble IndieBound

Site-wide art credit: Greg Swearingen   /   Headshot credit: Kate Albright